Menu ▼
Log In
Greater Seattle Aquarium Society

Breeder Awards Program

The Breeder’s Award Program (BAP) is designed to encourage all hobbyists to spawn their aquatic pets. It is open to any member of the GSAS. Participants accumulate points for each different species or color form they are able to reproduce successfully. Species are grouped into six classes according to degree of difficulty. Species not listed will be credited and class assignment will be made on an individual basis by the BAP coordinator, and/or the GSAS Board.

Participants can earn five different levels of breeders awards. The highest level, the Master Breeder award, has additional levels awarded for each 100 points earned; resulting in Master Breeder Level 1,2,3 etc.

Points earned in all classes are cumulative. Only the first spawn of each species or color form will be awarded points.

Eggs of the Susalwesi Rice Fish Oryzias woworae (click to enlarge)


Participation is easy. Just fill out the online BAP submission form. While not required, it would be a good idea to invite another member to observe your fry. To qualify for points you should have at least 10 fry that survive in your tank for at least thirty days after they are free-swimming. For certain species fewer than ten fry might qualify for points at the discretion of the BAP coordinator. Have fun! Breed your fish, and share your experiences with your fellow hobbyists.

Members can also view their submissions (pending or reviewed), and view every member’s approved submissions.

A Lamprologus signatus shelldweller fry attempts to swallow a whole frozen bloodworm (click to see its parent!)


  1. Participants must be GSAS members in good standing.
  2. Points will be awarded only once for each species or color form spawned.
  3. Parents of fry must be owned by the member.
  4. Fish not listed in the classification will be evaluated and assigned to a class by the BAP coordinator and/or the Board.
  5. The BAP coordinator may alter any of the program regulations or classifications in order to maintain the quality of the program, or to resolve unforeseen problems.
BAP Chairs presenting yearly awards at the 2013 Holiday party.

Award Levels

  1. Novice, 25 points
  2. Intermediate, 50 points
  3. Advanced, 100 points
  4. Senior, 200 points
  5. Master Level 1, 400 points
  6. Master Level 2, 500 points
  7. Culture Award, 25 points max in Class F


Class A: 5 points
Livebearers, Tanichthyes (White Clouds), Brachydanios, Convict Cichlids, Tilapia (mouthbrooding)
Class B: 10 points
American Flag fish (Jordanella), Shrimp, Badis badis, Gouramis (large), Bettas, Paradise fish, Tilapia (non-mouthbrooding), Copeina sp., Angels, Mouthbrooding Cichlids, Pelvicachromis, A. cacatuoides, Aquidens, Geophagus, Julidochromis, Neolamprologus, Rainbow fish
Class C: 15 points
Small Gouramis, Barbs, Killifish, Corydoras, Crenicara, Oscars, Chocolate Cichlid, Chromides, Pencil fish, Microgeophagus, Apistogramma, Urau, Headstanders, Goldfish, Koi, Otocinclus, Nannochromis, Gobies, Cichlasoma, Anomalchromis, Chromidotilapia, South American Cichlids, Gobies, Gudgeons
Class D: 20 points
Synodontis, Discus, Neon Tetras, Anableps, Hatchetfish, Cardinal Tetras, Silver Dollars, Pantodon, Marine Damsel fish, Glass fish, Archer fish, Ctenopoma, Chocolate Gouramis, Axolotl, Bumblebee Goby, Monos, Scatophagus, Leporinus, Sucker mouth Cats, Pike Cichlids
Class E: 25 points
Arowana, Eels, Knife fish, Loaches, Elephant Nose, Pirana Sharks, Seahorses
Class F: 5 points
This class is reserved for all cultivable organisms that provide food to aquatic inhabitants for breeding and raising to adulthood. Examples would include snails, brine shrimp, and worms. Points apply to Culture Award.